DontDisplayLastUsername

Posted On 2007-09-18 by dwirch
Keywords:
Tags: Security Software Hack/Tweak Vista
Views: 13028


The idea behind the DontDisplayLastUsername registry tweak is to tighten security, particularly on communal machines. The default registry setting means that the logon dialog box displays the last username. If it`s your own machine, where no-one else ever logs on - fine, don`t change the setting.

However, if it`s a communal machine, then one user can inadvertently, or even deliberately, lockout another user`s account. Solution: DontDisplayLastUsername = 1.

  • Launch Regedit.
  • Navigate to:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System\DontDisplayLastUserName
  • Set: DontDisplayLastUsername = 1

Tip: In regedit, click on the Edit menu, `Find`: DontDisplayLastUsername

To see the effect, try a Logoff / Logon to the Vista Machine

Double check the logic of `don`t display the last username` (1 = Yes: don`t. Whereas, 0 = No: Do)


About the Author

dwirch has posted a total of 188 articles.


Comments On This Post

No comments on this post yet!


Do you have a thought relating to this post? You can post your comment here. If you have an unrelated question, you can use the Q&A section to ask it.

Or you can drop a note to the administrators if you're not sure where you should post.


Your IP address is:54.234.0.2

Before you can post, you need to prove you are human. If you log in, this test goes away.




Code Links