Remove Delete Confirmation

Posted On 2009-11-07 by FortyPoundHead
Keywords: Recycle Bin Extra dialog tweak speed performance disable delete
Tags: Tip Windows 7 Vista
Views: 1555


Normally, Windows will display a dialog when you highlight a file and press delete. Why display this dialog when it's only going to the recycle bin anyway?

This extra dialog is a bit redundant. When you press delete, Windows default behavior is to send the item to the recycle bin. But before it goes, Windows asks if you are sure you want to send this file to the recycle bin.

Useless.

So, to turn this extra keystroke or mouseclick requirement off, follow these steps:

  1. Right-click the Recycle Bin, and select Properties
  2. Clear the checkbox for Display delete confirmation dialog

See? Easy. No more annoying redundant dialog. If you want to recover your files, simply open the Recycle Bin and restore as normal.


About the Author

FortyPoundHead has posted a total of 1974 articles.


Comments On This Post

No comments on this post yet!


Do you have a thought relating to this post? You can post your comment here. If you have an unrelated question, you can use the Q&A section to ask it.

Or you can drop a note to the administrators if you're not sure where you should post.


Your IP address is:54.234.65.78

Before you can post, you need to prove you are human. If you log in, this test goes away.




Code Links