Ditch the "Are You Sure?" prompt

Posted On 2010-10-23 by FortyPoundHead
Keywords:
Tags: Tip Tutorial Windows 7
Views: 1601


When you right click a file and select delete, Windows will ask you if you sure you want to send the file to the recycle bin. This is fine and dandy for the neophytes, but what if you're a geek doing some housecleaning? That dialog gets a bit old. Here is how to stop the "Are you sure?" madness.

Just remember, this will stop the dialog box completely. You send them to the bin, empty the bin, they're gone forever. Unless you've got a back squirreled away somewhere. Just sayin'.

Follow these easy steps to disable delete confirmation dialog box in Windows 7:

  1. Right-click on the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop.
  2. Select Properties from the resulting menu.
  3. The Recycle Bin Properties dialog box will appear. Uncheck the Display delete confirmation dialog box at the bottom.
  4. Click on the Apply and then the Ok button.

All done! Pretty easy, eh? If you want to see the dialogs again, simply follow the above process again, but place a checkbox in the appropriate place.


About the Author

has posted a total of 1974 articles.


Comments On This Post

No comments on this post yet!


Do you have a thought relating to this post? You can post your comment here. If you have an unrelated question, you can use the Q&A section to ask it.

Or you can drop a note to the administrators if you're not sure where you should post.


Your IP address is:54.92.150.98

Before you can post, you need to prove you are human. If you log in, this test goes away.


Code Links