Removing Administrative shares

Posted On 2006-11-22 by FortyPoundHead
Keywords: Remove Admin Share C$
Tags: General Tip Windows
Views: 1599


By default, if you delete the C$, D$, etc.. Administrative shares, they will be recreated when you reboot. To disable this feature, edit:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Parameters

Double click on AutoShareServer and set it to 0 to disable it for a server.
Double click on AutoShareWks and set it to 0 to disable it for a workstation.
If the entries are not present, Add Value of type REG_DWORD. The Range is 0 (disable) or 1 (enable - the default).


About the Author

has posted a total of 1974 articles.


Comments On This Post

No comments on this post yet!


Do you have a thought relating to this post? You can post your comment here. If you have an unrelated question, you can use the Q&A section to ask it.

Or you can drop a note to the administrators if you're not sure where you should post.


Your IP address is:54.166.212.152

Before you can post, you need to prove you are human. If you log in, this test goes away.


Code Links